10k Training Week 2: Fuel!

My second week of training was definitely better than my first.  I managed to get three of four runs in.

I skipped my Wednesday run in favor of a walk; I hadn’t slept well and was having trouble staying awake without the wonderful aid of coffee.  There was no way I would have been able to run and stay awake for the rest of the afternoon.

My Sunday long run was rough.  Once I convinced myself to get out of bed (an hour later than I had planned), I skipped breakfast and went straight for the run.  Big mistake.  Half a mile in I started getting lightheaded, felt weak, and started cramping.  Apparently I should not run on an empty stomach!  I had already suspected this, but had never confirmed it.  Now I have proof I needed to fuel before any run.  This was an uncomfortable lesson to learn, but I’d rather find out now than right before my race.  Fortunately, thanks to most of my runs being pre-lunch, I know a packet of oatmeal 20-30 minutes before my run is all I need for a 3 mile run.  I’ll have to see what I require for my longer runs.

Week 2 Training Breakdown

10k Training Week 2 Recap

One thought on “10k Training Week 2: Fuel!

Leave a Reply

